top of page
Search
Writer's pictureStacy-Lee Sands

What if your what if works?

There are many times in life where we have this urge and desire to start a new journey, be it pertaining our health, personal growth or business ventures. However, we often find ourselves lacking the motivation or courage to take the first step and give it a try. In a conversation with a friend I once again realized that nothing in life is certain, we have no manual or guide book to follow which tells how every decision we make will turn out, the only thing which we do have is choice. And when it comes to trying something new we are often anxious and scared because “what if things do not work out?”

Unfortunately, nobody can answer this question and the only way to actually figure out what works for you is to take a chance on it and see for yourself. I am prompted by a saying which is displayed inside UWC’s cafeteria, which says “what if your what if works” and there are numerous times where I was reminded of this phrase when I had to make decisions with regards to new journeys. My choices were not always the best, I could have saved myself from a lot of heartache and self-diminishment but they were made and I learnt regardless. If you were to ask me now if I would do anything differently I’d say maybe, but the paths I chose all made me who I am today. They led me to something bigger and better.


What I am trying to say is that in life there are no guarantees, there are more uncertainties than certainties but do not allow fear to withhold you from making that one choice which will lead you to your breakthrough or new dawn. Things may not always go our way but that too is okay, maybe we just need to be open minded and content with achieving the same outcome even though the process or journey is different to what we anticipated. The one aspect which matters most is that you take the leap and make the choice. Do not wait until it is too late or until you are “ready”, more often than most we are not ready for half of the things we go through in life but we adjust ourselves and learn to make the most of it.

Even when your decision may not produce the outcome you expect, be mindful of the fact that there is nothing in life which we cannot come back from apart from death, but other than that we are blessed daily with the opportunity to completely recreate ourselves, to better a situation or mend what needs to be mended. Though you might not see the changes immediately, you will gradually see the fruits of your work and you will be grateful for making that choice. You will learn and as result grow in numerous aspects.

I would like to encourage someone today, to trust themselves enough and make that decision.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page